In a style reminiscent of Janette Oke, Lori Wick gives her readers an easy, yet spiritually deep read in the Tucker Mills Trilogy. The series, based on a small town in the mid-1800′s, surrounds the lives of individuals and families that are easy for the reader to relate to.

Each book carries its own set of events and circumstances surrounding different people, and yet, with skillful intertwining, Ms. Wick draws all the characters introduced in the first book into the entire series.

amazon deals
NEW! Amazon Interesting Finds. Click Here.

Moonlight on the Millpond, the first book in the series, focuses on the story of a young man and a young woman, each drawn to Tucker Mills because of unforeseen circumstances with their respective

Moonlight on the Millpond

While in town to take care of the matters surrounding their families, their own lives become surprisingly connected to each other.Ms. Wick includes more than love and romance into this first book. Writing with a realistic sense of those whose lives are controlled by other family members, she speaks to any readers who have dealt, or are currently dealing, with this very issue in their own lives.

Writing from both the perspective of the controller as well as the person being controlled, the author is able to see the driving force and resulting effects through the eyes of both.

This first novel also realistically portrays the restless fear that drives those who do not yet have a relationship with their Heavenly Father and their search that can only end once they bow their knee and make Him Lord. Conversely, this book also portrays beautifully the calm assurance that a child of God can have, even in the face of illness and death; a quietness that is so apparent to the observers in the the person’s life that they wonder about it and long for it themselves.

Reading this, even in a fictional setting, causes the reader to pray that they, too, are able to live lives that cause others to long for the peace that can only come from a personal relationship with God.

Ms. Wick continues the series with book two, Just Above a Whisper.
Once again, with her wisdom and ability to combine real situations with her fictional characters, Ms. Wick touches on hearts that have been deeply wounded by the sinful actions of others. As a result, these wounded hearts are unable to accept and believe that they are loved.

Just Above a Whisper

However, Ms. Wick not only touches on the reality of heart wounds and their results, she also weaves into her story the powerful truth of how true love can bring about healing. She portrays, in the lives of her characters, how love can bring about a new trust in the heart that seemed, at one time, to never be able to receive love.

Bringing the characters from books one and two along with her into book three, Ms. Wick brings them all together, bound by a common purpose, in Leave a Candle Burning.

Leave a Candle Burning.

Of the three books in the series, this one spoke the most to my heart. Not only does Ms. Wick give us yet another story of love and romance, she also writes into her storyline the very real-life issues of fear and control.

Her characters speak of the fear of losing those they love and not being able to shield them from pain. As the book progresses, lessons emerge about ultimate trust in a Sovereign God who loves family members more than we ever can. The reader is not only entertained with a good story line but is spiritually challenged and refreshed as well.

I am not usually a fan of Lori Wick’s writing, quite frankly, but decided to read this series when my sister-in-law offered to lend it to me. Although I find her style of writing a bit more dramatic than I care for, and full of more love and romance themes than I am used to reading in my regular genre, I found this particular series delightful.

I appreciated the fact that I came away from each of the books carrying spiritual truths that I needed reminding of in my own personal life. It is a rare thing when a writer can write with both fictional ability as well as spiritual insight, but Ms. Wick has done it well in the Tucker Mills Trilogy.

Pic of the Day: Baby Photobomb

Baby Photobomb